Difference between the two MCom Risk programmes

There are two MCom qualifications in risk management available at the Vanderbijlpark Campus of the NWU. The following list of key attributes should assist students in choosing between the two:

MCom in Risk Management (SCJ N01 – E801V) Department of Risk, School of Economic Sciences

- This is a full dissertation (180 credits) programme with no additional modules;
- The minimum duration is one year and the normal duration two years;
- Acceptance of the student depends on the availability of a supervisor with experience in the chosen field as well as capacity in the School of Economic Sciences;
- o For more information, refer to https://commerce.nwu.ac.za/es/riskmanagement.

MCom in Applied Risk Management (5AR N01 – E810V) Centre for Applied Risk Management (UARM), School of Economic Sciences

- This is a part-time taught programme consisting of a mini-dissertation programme (84 credits) with six additional modules of 16 credits each, for a programme total of 180 credits;
 The programme is designed to suit the needs of fully employed and, typically, senior risk stakeholders. The student must be employed in a risk-related role to be selected for the programme;
- The minimum duration for the programme is 2 years;
- The first year of the programme is designed to complete the six modules and the second year for the mini-dissertation;
- The six modules are presented via six 3-day contact sessions plus a final assignment presentation session, spread throughout the year. Compulsory contact sessions are also held during the mini-dissertation year;
- o For more details on the programme, refer to https://commerce.nwu.ac.za/uarm.